The Nodders Community

Child Refuses to Nap?

Child Refuses to Nap?

Are you a parent, grandparent or caregiver of a child who doesn't want to take a nap? I know just...

Read more
Why are rhyming books important?

Why are rhyming books important?

The Nodders ~ Why are rhyming books important?  "Experts in literacy and child development have discovered that if children know eight nursery rhymes by heart by...

Read more
Q&A with Tina Huggins, Author of The Nodders

Q&A with Tina Huggins, Author of The Nodders

  This whimsical story introduces the Nodders, magical creatures who leave special treats for Nappers while they snooze!  

Read more
How did you come up with the name

How did you come up with the name "The Nodders"?

Writing a book has so many elements that need to be considered. For years, I had wanted to write this napping...

Read more
Teaching Toddlers about Colors, Objects and Shapes with The Nodders

Teaching Toddlers about Colors, Objects and Shapes with The Nodders

Don't just read it once...read it over and over with your little ones in your lap. Ask them to show...

Read more
News Release: Lifelong Educator and GrandMom Shares the Secret to Getting Children to Nap with Whimsical Picture Book

News Release: Lifelong Educator and GrandMom Shares the Secret to Getting Children to Nap with Whimsical Picture Book

NASHVILLE, Tenn., October 21, 2020 — Little ones having trouble settling infor that much-needed afternoon nap? The truth is everyone could...

Read more
Book Reviews and Endorsements

Book Reviews and Endorsements

Booklife/Publishers Weekly Review There are no shortage of “go to sleep” books for kids (and adults), and The Nodders succeeds...

Read more
Keep it Simple with Healthy Store Bought Snacks

Keep it Simple with Healthy Store Bought Snacks

There are so many options for Nodder Snacks that will fit in a child's small NapPouch. Remember it is not...

Read more
Napping Helps Preschoolers Unlock Their Full Potential for Learning

Napping Helps Preschoolers Unlock Their Full Potential for Learning

Not only is napping key to early education objectives, it is central to the emotional and cognitive development of young...

Read more

Noteworthy Book Reviews

The Nodders succeeds in differentiating itself with its highly original concept —and by focusing on naps. Even so, it could easily be read as a good night book as well. These charming beings will likely work their way into kids’ hearts, and will certainly be welcome in a caregiver’s arsenal when it comes to nudging children toward sleep.A picture book alive with whimsy and enchantment, The Nodders is crafted to charm little ones into napping.

Great for fans of Il Sung Na’s A Book of Sleep, Anna Dewdney’s Llama Llama Red Pajama, Divya Srinivasan’s Little Owl’s Night.

- Publisher's Weekly

An ancient tree in the Beddy Bye Woods is home to the Nodders: small winged creatures who only wake up when children go to sleep. To encourage children to take their naps, the Nodders leave treats or toys in sleeping children’s “NapPouches,” a concept inspired by a trick the author’s mother used. With fuzzy ears, patterned pajamas, and magic slippers that transform into everything from skates to rockets, the Nodders are sure to encourage any child to embrace nap time.

- Danielle Ballantyne, Foreword Reviews

Where was this book when my own child was little!?! Lovely little nap time story; So charming and sweet. I loved the illustrations of the Nodders. Absolutely adorable! Don;t forget to leave a special little something for the child when he/she awakes! It's part of the charm! I need to get this book for the littles who still nap.

-Cat, Goodreads

It’s a clever and engaging conceit: While kids nap, Nodders romp. Written in story-time rhymes crafted to be read aloud, and boasting Brian Schmidt’s stunning and lively digital illustrations of its imaginative subjects, The Nodders is a picture book sure to be requested again and again—and one that might offer relief to tired caregivers and children alike.

-Booklife Reviews

The Nodders is so original in concept and scope. It is charming for children to hear the story and fun for the reader too. I'm sure many fond memories will be started by the story and illustrations. And the practice of childhood napping will NEVER be the same! Enjoyment for years to come.

- Amazon Customer Reviews

She loves this book! I am buying this for everyone I know having a baby. We just went 2 days without a nap and she was exhausted. She cannot seem to shut her mind off. Seriously, I did not hear a peep. I have a few great trinkets that I keep, like a sticker. Anything becomes a treasure at this age.

- Barnes & Noble Customer Reviews

Resources

Tips for Moms, Caregivers, & Teachers

News & Events

Updates and the Latest Info

Reviews

See What Others Are Saying

THE NODDERS COMMUNITY

Subscribe to our community and be the first to know about
new products, events and book signings.